Active Schools, a national movement to increase physical education and physical activity in schools, has announced its 2017 National Award recipients. Four hundred and fifty-two U.S. schools, representing 37 states plus the District of Columbia, were recognized for their outstanding efforts to create an active school environment.

The Let’s Move! Active Schools National Award is the nation’s top physical education and physical activity distinction for K-12 schools. The award celebrates a school’s commitment to providing students with at least 60 minutes of physical education and physical activity before, during and after school each day.

To earn a Let’s Move! Active Schools National Award, a school must have met significant benchmarks in five areas: physical education; physical activity before and after school; physical activity during school; staff involvement; and family and community engagement.

Honorees receive a congratulatory letter, certificate, and large display banner.

Here are the Minnesota Schools receiving the 2017 National Award:

Austin Independent School District 492
-Summer Elementary School

Cleveland Public School District
-Cleveland School

Delano Independent School District 879
-Delano Elementary School

Osseo Independent School District 279
-Edinbrook Elementary School

Active Schools Announces Minnesota 2017 National Award Recipients